“They hit me so hard with the baton a chunk of skin had actually come off”

From KPFA/Democracy Now!, this account from a UC Berkeley undergraduate:

I was thrown to the ground and beaten with a baton. Police were beating my legs, even though I wasn’t fighting back and I wasn’t resisting. They hit me so hard with the baton on my shin that a chunk of skin had actually come off, and I was bleeding profusely.

 

and this from a UC Berkeley graduate student:

They tore the clothes off of me, because they couldn’t grab me, grabbed me by the hair, three of them. They pulled me out of the line of students, which we were like holding hands in peaceful demonstrations. And then, they put me down, and three UCPD got on top of me. And one of them used a rifle, the rifle that they use to shoot the pepper spray, and that officer hit me in the head. When I asked the officers, the UCPD officers, why I was being detained, they themselves told me, “We don’t really know who arrested you. We don’t even know what the charges are. But we’re going to process you eventually.

 

 

Leave a Reply

